Old 11-27-2011, 22:10   #1
Mary20
No Avatar

Default Important question

Hi,

I'm having a tummy tuck in 4 weeks time and I need to be prepared. I'm a full time student and everyone has been talking me that it will take me 2 weeks before I can go back to school. What is the healing time after a tummy tuck?

Mary

Last edited by Moderator; 01-26-2012 at 00:43.

Old 11-27-2011, 22:14   #2
Unregistered
No Avatar

Hey

I am a full time student as well and I am 3 days post op and planning on going back to uni next week.

Old 11-27-2011, 22:38   #3
SarahH
No Avatar

Hi there

Everyone heals differently so I can only speak from my expirence. Next week I am one month post op and there would have been no way I could have gone back to work. Remember, your movements will be limited and reaching is still a challenge even at one month. I removed my drains at week 3, so you also have to take into account that you may still have your drains. You won't be able/allowed to do much with those... The best advice I can give is to take it as it comes, go back to school when you feel you can.

Hope this helps,

Sarah

Old 11-27-2011, 22:40   #4
Unregistered
No Avatar

I actually went back to work week two, but I worked from home so maybe that's why I wasn't that tough but sitting in front of the desk made me swell :/

Old 11-27-2011, 22:46   #5
Unregistered
No Avatar

Of course, everyone heals differently so be sure to listen to your doctor, but I could not imagine going back to school/work before 3 weeks post-op!

Old 11-27-2011, 22:50   #6
Miranda
No Avatar

Mary, you have to allow your body time to heal, this is a major surgery and doing too much too fast can lead to complications. If I was you I wouldn't even talk about it until at least week 3...

Good luck

Miranda

Old 11-27-2011, 22:53   #7
Unregistered
No Avatar